The Ultimate Gluten-Free Food List: Start a Gluten Free Diet

The ultimate gluten-free food list to start a gluten free diet.

Why go gluten-free?

A gluten-free diet isn’t only for people with celiac disease, despite the diet was originally developed to combat celiac disease, a serious autoimmune disorder that virtually destroys the intestinal tract.

But these days, many people are cutting out gluten (a protein naturally found in wheat and many other grains including barley, spelt, and rye) from their diet in response to feeling bloated, tired or depressed. They find reducing gluten correlates with feeling better or even losing weight. 

But some say that extra pounds are most likely due to cutting out excess calories found in many flour based foods, like bread, pasta, cakes (of gluten based). 

If you wish to give a gluten-free diet a try, then knowing what you can and can not eat is important since gluten can hide in many very unexpected places.

We created a gluten-free food list infographic that contains naturally gluten free foods, including gluten-free grains. 

Here is also your ultimate gluten-free food shopping list so you can make gluten-free meals.

Gluten-Free Food List

Gluten-free foods

Gluten Free Grains

Grains listed below are naturally gluten-free and can be enjoyed on your gluten-free diet.

Gluten free grains
  • Rice
  • Cassava
  • Corn (maize)                                                 
  • Soy
  • Potato
  • Tapioca
  • Beans
  • Sorghum
  • Quinoa
  • Millet
  • Buckwheat groats (also known as kasha)
  • Arrowroot
  • Amaranth
  • Teff
  • Flax
  • Chia
  • Yucca
  • Gluten-free oats
  • Nut flours

Fresh Produce

Fresh produce

The healthiest way to eat when you’re gluten intolerant is to follow a gluten-free diet that includes all natural fruits, vegetables, nuts, and seeds.

In their natural state, all fruits and non-grain vegetables are gluten free.

However when buying raw vegetables, remember to wash them thoroughly before eating in case they have come in contact with a product containing gluten.

If you’re buying frozen or canned vegetables or fruits, read the label to be sure it’s gluten free. 


Plain milk from animals (cows, goat, or sheep) is gluten-free in its natural state.

However when buying butter, yogurt, or ice cream, be sure to check the label for barley malt or maltodextrin, which may be used as sweeteners. 

Hard cheese is gluten-free, but it always pays to check the label.

Meat, Poultry, and Fish

Meat, poultry, and fish

According to, beef, pork, lamb, poultry and fish are naturally gluten-free. Again just like the fresh fruits and veggies, store them separate from any gluten-containing products to avoid cross contamination. Wash before you cook. 

Packaged meats, poultry, and fish, as well as restaurant entrees, are frequently covered with breadcrumbs or a flour-containing sauce, both of which contain gluten.

Buy fresh whenever possible, and read packages carefully to ensure they’re certified gluten-free. 

Nuts, Seeds, and Beans

Nuts, seeds and beans

Beans, nuts, and seeds are naturally gluten-free in their most natural state.

You can find the complete list of nuts and seeds here. If you are buying these items from a bulk bin, be sure to use gluten-free designated serving spoon to avoid cross contamination. For canned goods, look for “GF” sign on the product label.

The Takeaway

Your gluten-free diet can still be nutritious and delicious. 

With gluten-free diets, you certainly have grains and food items you need to absolutely avoid such as wheat and barley. However, there are still many grains who are wheat and gluten-free that can be incorporated into your diet.

Not only that, many common wheat-containing foods such as pasta, noodles, and bread now have gluten-free varieties that utilize non-gluten grains and starches. You can also use vegetables to substitute noodles and pasta. Take zoodles for an example. Zoodles are zucchinis made into pasta shaped. 

Additionally, fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, and legumes are naturally gluten-free. Also, meat, poultry, and fish are all naturally safe. 

But when in doubt, check “GF” sign for certified gluten-free food items. 

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.